New York City’s Unemployment Numbers Go Down

WSJ reports that New York City’s unemployment numbers declined last month to 9.6 percent. I hope I can contribute to that number dipping soon. While I’m getting by on a combination of unemployment and freelance work here and there, I’m sick of the uncertainty of it all. One week yields enough work for two people, so I’m basically working day and night for a week, while another week brings nothing. None of my gigs are steady, so I’m constantly on the hustle, looking for every way I can to make money. I really hope New York City’s unemployment numbers continue to drop this month and that I’ll be a part of that!

4 Comments

Filed under Confessions of an Unemployed New Yorker, News

4 responses to “New York City’s Unemployment Numbers Go Down

  1. snowballs

    probably because people are moving out of the state.

  2. andrewatlanta

    I have been unemployed for 3.5 years and am about to turn 59. I had a highly successful career as an editor at two national research universities, and I am the author of two novels. My prospects for full-time employment are pretty much nil. I have been given the opportunity to live on a mountain in Southern California, where I hope to regain my health and my sanity. I am blogging about this experience in what I hope is a positive and life-affirming way. If you want to link to my blog, please do so:

    http://altitudeadjust.wordpress.com/

  3. FJM

    Have you been out of the workforce for some time? Have you lost hope at having a career? Is the bad economy weighing you and your family down?

    A major cable network, Studio Lambert, the production company behind the mega-hit show “Undercover Boss” and Mystic Art Pictures are now searching the nation for the unemployed who are ready to stop struggling and find the motivation and inspiration to find a fulfilling career and change their life!

    Our fairy job mother will give you the help, motivation, courage, and tools to not only land a job, but also live a happier healthier, and more fulfilled life! Serving job seekers one wish at a time!

    We are currently seeking:
    Men and women who are unemployed
    We are looking, families, couples, ect.
    Ages 18 and up
    MUST be a legal US resident and able to work in the US
    MUST have a dynamic personality
    For more information please visit our website at http://www.mysticartpictures.com

    EMAIL US NOW AT: fjmcasting@gmail.com

    Please include your name, age, contact numbers, email address, and a brief summary of why we need to meet you!

  4. mariea

    This site may help with some ideas to help survive if you are unemployed. Check it out:

    http://www.squidoo.com//101-ways-to-not-lose-your-mind-when-unemployed

Leave a Reply

